News & Events
September 25, 2013, the Governor of California signed into law AB10 to increase the minimum wage in California. The first increase will be effective on July 1, 2014, to raise the minimum wage to $9. An additional increase of the minimum wage to $10 will be effective on January 1, 2016. The specific language of the law is set out below.
Section 1182.12 of the California Labor Code is amended to read:
"Notwithstanding any other provision of this part, on and after July 1, 2014, the minimum wage for all industries shall be not less than nine dollars ($9) per hour, and on and after January 1, 2016, the minimum wage for all industries shall be not less than ten dollars ($10) per hour."